I have been so busy last few months. It was hard to stop and think if I’m feeling something. People might have known it or might have even seen it in my eyes, mannerisms, tone of voice or my statuses. I have a lot to tell also and at the same time I’m afraid to share as well. Leaving all this I just wanted to add a post in my blog so as to divert my mind.

So today I would share a chapter picked up from my dark blue, fabric covered journal. I opened the journal and it was dated 11th June 2010. It was my last day at college. While leaving, all my friends came to see me off. We were very sad. The journey of four years was completed. We clicked hundreds of pictures from my cam in different poses. Bidding them adieu, I left. During the journey, I watched the pictures several times and felt as happy as ever. Those pictures gleefully reminded me of all good and naughty things done on the last hour of the last day. Next morning I reached home but I was sad thinking of leaving the college life. I was sitting watching movie when I remembered my friends. Excitedly I opened my cam and noticed horror of horrors that my entire data had somehow been deleted. Hundreds of pictures taken over the course of an hour had simply vanished. Poof… gone… Bye-bye… How could this be? I had hardly touched it after coming home.

I tried not to regard the empty cam as an indication of my utter carelessness. I did not know what to do when I was faced with such an enormous data loss. I opened and closed and opened and closed the cam more than 10 times to make sure if the pictures were really gone. It was! In the midst of opening and closing the cam, I remembered my brother asking me, “should I delete the last picture that I randomly clicked.” To which I had answered, “No, I’ll delete it later”.  Immediately I called him and asked about the pictures. He said he clicked “delete all” instead of “delete one”. I scolded him very hard and had no idea as what to do. My mind was racing. I thought of all friends I would not be able to reach the same place and occasion. Tears rolled down my cheeks and I called my friends to tell them what happened. I was consoled by all but could not stop my tears. Without the last day’s pictures, I felt something is complete. My day stopped functioning. And no, to answer your question, I had not backed up my data. But thanks for asking.

I thought of any restore function which is actually miracle of miracles that could actually happen. But all in vain. In between all this I got to the thinking, what if we had a restore function for our lives? Think of the possibilities… Fat is too high? Restore… Embarrassed of you at yesterday’s act? Restore…  Liked your haircut better before? Restore…  Want your friend back with whom you broke-up? Restore… Possibilities are endless. I could have definitely used a restore function. I guess I liked the idea of restoring but in reality not possible. Then I decided to continue with the forward momentum of my life and hoped that I could get a restore function for cam and get the deleted pictures.

Connecting with myself and reflecting on the past four years has taught me that we’re not frozen in time like mosquitoes in amber. And life progresses whether we stop to obsess about it or not.

P.S. – I did not get the deleted pictures but the last day’s memories are still fresh in my mind.

