December : THEN to NOW – Part 1

After completing my training in Bangalore I got my project allocation in Pune in DECEMBER 2010. Yes, it’s been a year in Pune now. I was really excited on getting this location due to some reasons like… I came nearer to my home-state, more friends, heard a lot about Pune’s night life; it is near Mumbai… etc. So, keeping all this in mind I started planning. 🙂 But all what we think and hear is not always right. No doubt Pune must be really a very good city but my office was at outer Pune i.e. very far from the main Pune city. This ruined all my plans. I met my training friends and shifted with them in a hostel. Our hostel was surrounded by a mechanic shop, electric shop, a bike showroom and two more hostels. I did not know how to react at this. 8) Life at beginning was quite simple and smooth. Going to office, coming back, telling each other the whole day’s activities, discussing the place, then cursing the location of our office and finally off to bed.

Food was okay. Transport system was very bad. Buses were very less and the available ones were in a pathetic condition. A vehicle called tumtum actually a six-seated but usually made eight-seated was there and we used to come and go office by that only. The drivers were very harsh. The roads were full of pits and the surroundings were full of dust. All people used to cover their faces. One cannot see anyone without a cloth on one’s face. The tumtum strikes were there which used to make life hell as there was no other transport. The Autos with meters were very costly. They never took anyone anywhere at less than Rs. 150/- I was very disappointed on seeing all this. This was not what I thought of my new location. 😐 😦 For a month, we roamed here and there in search of a flat. Some flats were too costly, in some brokerage charge was more and some flats did not have safe ambiance. Still, we enjoyed few moments like celebrating friend’s surprise birthday party, Christmas outing, New year bash, watching movie, new project work, presentations and of course the new people. All the trainees from Bangalore used to be together like a family and spent a good time pulling each others leg. Slowly, I got used to that transport and surrounding.

One of my college friends got transferred to Pune in the month of January and she also joined us in hostel. After that I felt happier. In few days, five of us took a 2BHK flat in an awesome society having a great ambiance. I  started enjoying with my college friend who was also my roommate. Rest three flat mates used to be apart. Slowly the so-called family got divided either due to the projects or due to some mismatch of thoughts; though hi-bye and small talks were always there. Time changes and life also changes. I met some new friends and enjoyed their company. I also met old friends in Mumbai. So, after having a good group of friends, we toured almost every month.

I enjoyed the beaches in Mumbai, a fun-filled birthday bash, another project and a new team, the upma and poha in the office, experienced the fenny (feni), ferry and food of Goa, the endless talks on phone and the increasing closeness of friends, the rides and swings in Alibagh also known as Mini-Goa, the updates of pics on facebook and the jealousy of others, the mind-blowing trip to the Sinhagad Fort on a rainy day in raincoats, the romantic Monsoons with hot tea and pakode, getting wet from head to toe and then sneezing loud, an exciting trip to Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani, the Taj-Mahal and the Red-Fort of Agra, shopping on the streets, traveling in locals and Volvos, tasting every sort of food from roadside to seaside, all sort of yummy betel quid i.e. paan banaraswala and at times reading of books and novels too. 🙂 😀 I also went to my home and the previous posts explain how I reached there. 😛

But all this merry-making did not stay for long. Till August I had fun but after that how December arrived I did not even realize.

Now it was DECEMBER 2011….

Leave a Reply

